Races Set for May Primary

The races are set for May’s primary elections. The most hotly-contested office in Marshall County is District 1 County Commissioner. Incumbent Republican Kurt Garner will face David W. Hostetler and Stan Klotz in the May primary. The winner will presumably square off against Democrat Rich Erickson II in November. Three Republicans have also filed to run for Marshall County Recorder: Anna “Buffy” Breeding, William Cleavenger, and Janet Howard.

Meanwhile, Republican Mandy Campbell is challenging incumbent Bill Githens for the District 2 County Council seat. The winner is expected to face Democrat Martin J. Oosterbaan in November’s general election. Republicans Ralph E. Booker and Jack W. Roose are running for the District 3 County Council seat.

Open seats on the Argos Town Council have drawn interest from Edward L. Barcus, as well as incumbents George Null and Suzanne R. Umbaugh. Candidates for the Culver and Bourbon town councils have until August 1 to file to run in this year’s town conventions. So far, two candidates are running for Bourbon Town Council, while three are running for Culver’s open council seats.

The May primary will also have a few contested township races. Marlene Mahler and Bruce Snyder are seeking the Republican Party nomination for Union Township Trustee. Meanwhile, Center, North, and Union townships each have a total of four candidates running for the three township board seats.