Awards Given during Wythougan Valley Preservation Council Annual Meeting

(L to R) Kurt Garner, Daniel Stauffer, and Kevin Overmyer

The members of the Wythougan Valley Preservation Council, Inc. held its annual meeting on Thursday afternoon in the Marshall County Museum.

As part of the business portion of the meeting, the current office holders were voted to retain their positions. Kurt Garner serves as President with Vice President Scott Schuster, Treasurer Paul Schoberg and Secretary Portia Wampler.

Three Daniel McDonald awards were given. President Kurt Garner gave the history of the award.

“Daniel McDonald was Marshall County’s first historian,” explained Garner. “He’s credited for having the history that we can enjoy today in the written form. We thought it be fitting to name the award after Daniel McDonald. I think at this point we’ve given out around 30 awards in the history of our group.”

Eagle Scout Daniel Stauffer was given an award for his extensive efforts on the Marshall County Memorial Forest. Kevin and Melodie Overmyer were awarded for their revitalization of a former grocery store in the heart of Burr Oak into the Burr Oak Whistle Stop. Finally, Kurt and Christine Garner were awarded for the rehabilitation of the Robert Schroeder/Sycamore Hill house that is recognized as a historic structure.