Shady Rest Committee List Finalized

The Marshall County Commissioners finalized a list of committee members to serve on the Shady Rest Home Committee.

The commissioners decided to form a committee to determine what uses could fill the Shady Rest Home facility once it is handed back to the county on Aug. 1. The Bowen Center made the decision to cease operations there after some of the new regulations didn’t fit the facility’s needs.

The nine members include County Council President Judy Stone, Commissioner Kurt Garner, Plymouth City Council member Bill Walters, Veteran’s Service Officer Pam Betz, Ward Byers from Marshall County Community Corrections, Clerk Deb Vandemark, Dustin Schafer from the Neighborhood Center, and community members Dennis Beville and Scott Olds.

The commissioners are hoping that a non-profit agency can occupy the building.