Three-Way Race Shapes Up for Surveyor

vote-3A third candidate has filed for the office of Marshall County Surveyor. Don Heckford joins fellow Republicans Rex Gilliland and Dennis G. Morrison in the race for that office.

Other new filings include Democrat Donna R. Wentzel for a Marshall County Council-at-Large seat. She is the lone Democrat and joins incumbents Steve Harper and John VanVactor and Toni L. Hutchings, Jack W. Roose and Jim Masterson in vying for council seats.

Several incumbent precinct committeemen have already filed their candidacy. The most recent to do so is Nelson Chipman, Jr., who represents West 2. He’s also running as a Republicans state convention delegate.

Several Democrats have filed as state convention delegates, too. That list includes Susan M. Crump, Mary Jo Finley, James Helmke and Michelle Livinghouse.

Candidates have until Friday, Feb. 5 at noon to submit their paperwork to the Marshall County Clerk’s Office.